Fall and Winter Recommendations!

Image

So we are well into Spring here in Australia, but I felt that I couldn’t leave Winter behind without sharing with the rest of you my favourites from the season. So let’s get straight into it!

Lips:

We all know that the colder seasons are perfect for those grungy-vampy dark lips, but one of my more favourite shades for the past winter was ‘Naked Paris’ by M.A.C. It is a really subtle shimmery-nude colour, with just enough darkness to grunge up your look a little. Lipstick Swatches

Another favourite was ‘Poisonberry’ by Lime Crime. This is a vibrant but dark purple at its full pigmentation. In most online swatches you’ll see it as a gorgeous dark sheen of purple, however, for an everyday look I tended to pat it onto my lips to a pigmentation that I was comfortable with. I’ll swatch it for you at both pigmentation levels so just check the images to the side.

I get really into stains in Winter too, because I’m always putting lip balm on to avoid chapped lips. Stains are a great way to keep some colour while continuously applying the balms that we so desperately need in the cold. Two of my favourite stains are ‘Rhubarb’ by Bloom Cosmetics and ‘Posietint’ by Benefit Cosmetics. Where Rhubard is a definite dark vampy shade, posietint can be used on both the lips or the cheeks to give a natural flushed look which can be really flattering in the colder seasons.

And last but not least the lip product that took the makeup world by storm last season ‘Solstice 201′ from the Apocalips series by Rimmel London! These gorgeous liquid lipsticks are so incredible, sit so well on the lips, give great pigmentation and have a cute colour range for most seasons. Well worth a look in the coming seasons *fingers crossed they release some more shades*

Eyes:

IMG_5215

This fall and winter I didn’t really discover many new eye products that I liked in terms of eyeliner or mascara but as far as eyeshadow goes, I found myself coming back to the same palette most days. The Nude ‘tude palette by theBalm has so many fantastic neutrals with enough warm, dark shades to really grunge up your look for Winter. As far as selling it to you further, I really feel that this palette speaks for itself so check out the images.

Cheeks:

theBalm really stood out to me in the last season, with their blush ‘Down Boy’ being another favourite. (though I really feel that it is a great shade for any season)

As a highlight and finishing powder for the under-eye area I found myself wearing Hourglass’ Ambient lighting powder in ‘Diffused Light’ it is a stunning (yet ridiculously expensive) powder with just enough shimmer in it that it really lights up your face without making you feel like you are covered in glitter.

Nails:

I have really been getting into Butter London nail polishes in the last year. They always have great pigmentation, great lasting power and not too long a drying period so as you can imagine, I use them all the time. My two favourite shades for Fall and Winter would be ‘Queen Vic’ and ‘Gobsmacked’. I would highly recommend most of the glitter polishes from Butter London as they dry ridiculously fast which is always a bonus, and look so cute!

2 thoughts on “Fall and Winter Recommendations!

Leave a Reply

